Division of Forests

LandscapeOur mission at the Division of Forests is to lead the state in fostering a land ethic that recognizes our responsibility to promote healthy forests and is founded on the principles of respect for the land, sustainable use and exemplary management. This ethic is the foundation which guides all our decisions and actions. Our mission is fulfilled through a broad offering of programs that manage Agency lands, monitor the statewide condition of forests, and help private landowners become stewards of their woodlands. Additionally, our programs assist communities in urban and community forestry; protect forests from large-scale outbreaks of disease, insect pests and wildfire; support the wood-using industry, and provide educational opportunities in forestry subjects for individuals of all ages. To help us meet the goals our mission, we work collaboratively with partnerships.

The Division of Forests is staffed with foresters and specialists who provide information, technical and assistance and also manage state-owned lands. The Division Director and several program managers are located at the Central Office in Montpelier. The majority of the program staff are stationed in one of the five District Offices located around Vermont. See contact information for general inquiries below or contact district administration staff using the information on this map.

Map of management district boundariesCentral Office

1 National Life Drive, Davis 2
Montpelier, VT 05620-3801

District 1: Springfield Office

100 Mineral Street, Suite 304
Springfield, VT 05156-3168

District 2: Rutland Office

271 North Main Street, Suite 215
Rutland, VT 05701 

District 3: Essex Office

111 West Street 
Essex Junction, VT 05452

District 4: Barre Office

5 Perry Street, Suite 20
Barre, VT 05641-4265
Work Phone: 802-476-0170

District 5: St. Johnsbury Office

374 Emerson Falls Road
St. Johnsbury, VT 05819 

Staff listing

Danielle Fitzko, Director
Division of Forests
1 National Life Drive, Davis 2
Montpelier, VT 05620
(802) 828-1531