Act 171 Forest Integrity Study Committee

Meeting Minutes

August 18, 8am-11am The ANR Catamount Room, National Life Building, Montpelier

- 1. The meeting commenced at 8:10am with introductions and welcomes by ANR Secretary Deb Markowitz and Department of Forests, Parks and Recreation Commissioner Michael Snyder.
- 2. Commissioner Snyder reviewed the mandate and background of Act 171.
- Trey Martin reviewed the legislative charge and outlined committee expectations including governance. Diane Snelling moved to elect Commissioner Snyder as chair of the committee; Lucy Leriche seconded the nomination. The committee unanimously voted to elected Commissioner Snyder as the chair.
- 4. Vermont Fish & Wildlife staff John Austin (Lands and Habitat Program Manager), Eric Sorenson (Natural Communities Ecologist) and Kim Royar (Special Assistant to the Commissioner) presented an ANR Analysis & Understanding of Vermont Forests.
- 5. Peter Gill (Associate General Counsel at the Natural Resources Board) presented a *Primer on Act* 250 and Forest Land Use: Selected Portions of the Act 250 Statute.
- 6. John Adams (Planning and Policy Manger in the Agency of Commerce & Community Development) presented a *Primer on Municipal Regulation and Land Use Planning in Vermont.*
- 7. Commissioner Snyder summarized legislatively mandated ANR and stakeholder work to date regarding policy recommendations in support of forest integrity.
- 8. The committee heard public comments and questions.
- 9. The meeting adjourned at 11am.

The next meetings of the study committee will be held in the Agency of Natural Resources Offices, 1 National Life Drive, Montpelier:

Tuesday, September 13, 8:30am – 11:30am: **The Montpelier Room** Tuesday, October 18, 8:30am – 11:30am: **The Catamount Room** Friday, November 18, 8:30am – 11:30am: **The Catamount Room** Study committee members in attendance:

Put Blodgett, Vermont Woodlands Association Jamey Fidel, Vermont Natural Resources Council Lucy Leriche, Agency of Commerce & Community Development Sam Lincoln, Vermont Forest Products Association Joe Nelson, Vermont Working Lands Enterprise Board Diane Snelling, Natural Resources Board Michael Snyder, Department of Forests, Parks & Recreation Bonnie Waninger, Vermont Association of Planning & Development Agencies Karen Horn, Vermont League of Cities and Towns

Interested parties and State of Vermont Agency staff in attendance:

John Adams, Agency of Commerce & Community Development John Austin, Agency of Natural Resources Billy Coster, Agency of Natural Resources Rebecca Ellis, Agency of Natural Resources Joanne Garton, Agency of Natural Resources Pete Gill, Natural Resources Board Kaitlin Hayes, Vermont Natural Resources Council Deb Markowitz, Secretary, Agency of Natural Resources Trey Martin, Deputy Secretary, Agency of Natural Resources Matt McMann, MMR Kim Royar, Agency of Natural Resources Amy Sheldon, Legislator Eric Sorenson, Agency of Natural Resources Steve Webster, Landowner